Baroque Suites in Senate House

Wednesday 13 November 2019
Senate House
Senate House, despite all its grandeur, only opens its doors for the University of Cambridge's graduation ceremonies.

Buy Tickets

Tickets are not on sale for this event yet.

However, you can be amongst the exclusive few who have entered this historic building and enjoy an evening of some the finest Baroque performance Cambridge has to offer; under the direction of Margaret Faultless, an internationally renowned specialist in historical performance practice, Director of Performance at the University of Cambridge, Head of the Royal Academy of Music's Historical Performance Department, and leader of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment.

Margaret Faultless writes: 1685 was a remarkable year – the birth of both Bach and Handel. Along with Telemann they form a triumvirate of German Baroque ‘Greats’. This concert celebrates their abilities to amalgamate French and Italian styles with dance music in three contracting suites. The Bach suite includes the famous Air on the G String – which isn’t, by the way, really playable on the G string at all! All three composers were inspired by Vivaldi’s invention of a particular form of the concerto and the concert will feature one such piece, typically virtuosic, and performed by CUMS concerto winner, Sophie Westbrooke. 

Handel Water Music Suite in F major

Bach Third Orchestral Suite
Vivaldi Recorder Concerto in C major
Telemann Suite in A minor for Recorder and Strings

Cambridge University Collegium Musicum
Margaret Faultless director
Sophie Westbrooke recorder (CUMS Concerto Competition 2019 prize-winner)


Event type:
Running time:

2 hours