Philharmonia Orchestra

Saturday 4 March 2017
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
Cambridge Classical Concert Series 16/17

Buy Tickets

Tickets are not on sale for this event yet.

Photo: Alexandra Soumm © Beatrice Cruveiller

Series sponsor        Media partner

Conductor Tugan Sokhiev
Violin Alexandra Soumm

Mendelssohn Overture, 'The Hebrides'
Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, 'Pathétique'

Following its extraordinarily successful appearance last year, the award-winning Philharmonia Orchestra returns with another outstanding concert that looks sure to be a highlight of this year’s Classical Series.

Bruch’s Violin Concerto is the composer’s most enduring and best-loved work, its popularity showcasing the instrument’s flexibility and rich, luxurious tones.  After the interval, the orchestra does full justice to Tchaikovsky's great Symphony No. 6, the 'Pathétique', one of the defining sounds of the Romantic period.

Did you know?
In 1866, the year Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1 was premièred in its original form, in France, Degas began painting scenes of dancers at the ballet; in Germany Alfred Nobel invented dynamite; and in Russia Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment was published in twelve monthly instalments.

Pre-concert talk
6pm in Cambridge Guildhall Council Chamber – free to concert ticket holders

Event type: