Postponements & Cancellations

As we re-open, some events may still be cancelled. If you hold tickets to a cancelled event, rest assured your tickets are protected and we will contact you in due course about your options for a refund or, where available, re-booking to another date.

Please be patient and wait to be contacted. The phone lines remain closed and the Wheeler Street box office is open from 6 pm on performance days for ticket collections only.

If you need to contact Box Office, please send an email to and we will respond as soon as we are able. Please note, we are currently experiencing a very high volume of emails and may take a few days to get back to you.

Cambridge live

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

Wednesday 18 May 2016
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
The Sixth Concert in the Cambridge Classical Series

Buy Tickets

Tickets are not on sale for this event yet.


Running Time:

1st half 53 minutes

interval 20 minutes

2nd half 60 minutes


Conductor         Pavel Kogan
Violin                  Nikita Boriso-Glebsky

Prokofiev            Russian Overture
Shostakovich     Violin Concerto No.1
Rachmaninov     Symphony No.2

This concert of Russian greats opens in buoyant mood with Prokifiev’s folk-inspired Russian Overture.

Shostakovich’s fiery and exhilarating Violin Concerto No.1 makes huge demands of the soloist and award-winning Nikita Boriso-Glebsky rises to the task with a breathtaking virtuosic performance. The evening ends triumphantly with Rachmaninov’s Symphony No.2 taking the audience on a huge emotional journey. 

Pre-concert talk: 6pm at Heffers Bookshop, Trinity Street.  Free to concert ticket holders. 

This UK tour by the Moscow State Symphony Orchestra is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation.

Media Partner

Event type: