Armenian State Symphony Orchestra - The Orchestral Series 22/23

Tuesday 14 February 2023
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
The Orchestral Series 2022/23

Buy Tickets

Tuesday 14 February 2023 19:30

Conductor: Sergey Smbatyan

Soloist: Chloe Hanslip (violin)


Khachaturian - Pieces from the Suite "Spartacus", No.2

I. Variation of Aegina, Bacchanalia

II. Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia

Mendelssohn – Violin Concerto

Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 4

The Armenian State Symphony Orchestra with Sergey Smbatyan, their Principal Conductor and Founding Artistic Director, promise a real treat with this popular programme of classical favourites. We’re delighted that talented British violinist Chloe Hanslip returns to Cambridge to perform Mendelssohn’s virtuosic Violin Concerto.  Opening the concert is a piece from their nation’s greatest composer Aram Khachaturian, a suite from his ballet ‘Spartacus’.  This includes the famous Adagio, which featured as the theme tune to the long-running 1970’s TV series ‘The Onedin Line’.  Tchaikovsky’s epic Fourth Symphony rounds off the evening, arguably the composer’s most famous and popular symphony, packed with rousing tunes featuring its famous repeated fate motif.


Event type:
Running time: