Russian State Symphony Orchestra - Oct 2018

Tuesday 9 October 2018
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
Orchestral Series 2018/19

Buy Tickets

Tickets are not on sale for this event yet.

Valentin Uryupin conductor
Barry Douglas piano
Khachaturian Masquerade Suite
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 1
Shostakovich Symphony No. 5

Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5, composed at the height of the Great Purge, brims with suspense, tension, and moments of twisted irony, capped off by a thunderously cathartic finale which calls on the full powers of brass and percussion.

Less often heard than his famed second piano concerto, Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 1 calls for the same ferocious musicianship, with manic flurries, fanfares, and the lushly romantic textures you’ll recognise from Rachmaninov’s best-loved orchestral works. Pianist Barry Douglas, widely acclaimed for his recordings of Beethoven and Brahms, brings his ‘finely chiselled’ technique (Gramophone) to this exhilarating piece.

Khachaturian’s exuberant Masquerade Suite opens this concert featuring the acclaimed Russian State Symphony Orchestra – musicians who really know how to get under the skin of music by their country’s greatest composers.

Pre-Concert talk 6pm - 6.45pm

Join the evening's pianist Barry Douglas for a pre-concert talk in the Cambridge Guildhall (opposite the Corn Exchange) Free to concert ticket holders. 

Supported by

This show is part of our Orchestral Series 2018/2019

Spice Time Credits
Spice%20Logo.pngSpice Time Credit systems support people in giving their time to strengthen communities and to design and deliver better services. They work on a simple hour-for-hour basis: for every hour you give to your community you earn one Time Credit, which you can then spend on an activity of your choice. You can give time in ways that match your skills and interests, and spend your Time Credits with our diverse range of fantastic partners across the UK.


Event type:
Running time: