Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - 19 February 2020

Wednesday 19 February 2020
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
The Boldfield Orchestral Series 2019/20

Buy Tickets

Tickets are not on sale for this event yet.

Glinka – Overture: Life for the Tsar
Beethoven – Piano Concerto No 1
Tchaikovsky – Symphony No 5
Domingo Hindoyan - conductor
Leon McCawley - piano
The Royal Philharmonic returns with the full-throttle drama of Beethoven’s First Piano Concerto, followed by Tchaikovsky’s gallant and lyrical Symphony No. 5.
Rich in harmony and tenderness, Beethoven's Piano Concerto No.1 is a highlight not to be missed of the 2019-2020 Boldfield Orchestral Series in Cambridge, performed by esteemed pianist Leon McCawley, who marks his sixth appearance at the BBC Proms this year.
The second half of this concert is dedicated to Tchaikovsky’s monumental Symphony No.5. Tchaikovsky’s use of the recurring Fate theme as an emotional core paints new orchestral colours in each movement with intensity and purpose. It is rightfully remembered as one of the great Romantic symphonies.
Tempo Time Credit systems support people in giving their time to strengthen communities and to design and deliver better services. They work on a simple hour-for-hour basis: for every hour you give to your community you earn one Time Credit, which you can then spend on an activity of your choice. You can give time in ways that match your skills and interests, and spend your Time Credits with our diverse range of fantastic partners across the UK. 


Event type:
Running time:

1st half - 50 mins

interval 20 mins

2nd half 50 mins