Postponements & cancellations due to COVID-19

If you hold tickets to an event postponed or cancelled due to the COVID-19 outbreak, please be aware our Box Office phone lines are not available at this time.

Rest assured your tickets are protected and we will contact you in due course about your options for a refund or, where available, re-booking to another date.

Please be patient and wait to be contacted. We are working through a significant backlog and will contact you in due course. If you still need to contact Box Office, please send an email to and we will respond as we are able.

CSMF 2019 presents Jennifer Pike & Martin Roscoe

Wednesday 17 July 2019
Great Hall at The Leys

Buy Tickets

Tickets are not on sale for this event yet.

Jennifer Pike violin
Martin Roscoe piano
JS Bach Violin Sonata in F minor
Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
Bacewicz Polish Caprice
Elgar Violin Sonata
Two of the country’s finest instrumentalists, violinist Jennifer Pike and pianist Martin Roscoe have chosen a programme that touches on both Festival themes – JS Bach and women composers.
The four-movement Bach sonata is an original work for violin and keyboard (rather than a trio sonata arrangement), which reveals the contrapuntal and melodic possibilities of both instruments.
Although Polish Caprice by Grażyna Bacewicz – who was a virtuoso violinist as well as Poland’s most successful female composer – is only a couple of minutes long, it is striking in its dynamic and tonal drama, and is full of Polish folk tunes. Written in 1949, it remains a very popular recital piece.
Jennifer and Martin will also perform two of the repertoire’s best-known works, Vaughan Williams’ Lark Ascending – so redolent of an English summer’s day – and Elgar’s beautiful and introspective violin sonata, composed at the close of the First World War.
“Pike’s soaring Lark is a masterclass in expressive free flight.” The Strad Magazine
Event type:
Running time: