Cambridge Music Festival presents Mendelssohn Octet

Thursday 27 June 2019
The Old Divinity School, St Johns College

Buy Tickets

Thursday 27 June 2019 19:30
Members of 12 Ensemble
Strauss Sextet from Capriccio [12’]
Shostakovich Two pieces for String Octet, Op.11 [10’]
Mendelssohn Octet for strings, Op.20 [30’]
Written when he was just 16, Mendelssohn’s Octet is full of ‘youthful verve, brilliance and perfection [which] make it one of the miracles of nineteenth-century music.’ 
An equally youthful Shostakovich fills his dramatic Octet with a mixture of mysterious folk-like melodies and crunching harmonies whose driving rhythms propel us to a breathless finish. By contrast the Strauss, in one of the last pieces he ever wrote, is heart-stoppingly beautiful, serene and lyrical.
It all adds up to an unforgettable evening performed by members of the ‘insanely talented’ 
12 Ensemble, London’s acclaimed un-conducted string orchestra: ‘bold, versatile and virtuosic’, they are renowned for playing of ‘raw energy and excitement’.
And after the show, chat to the musicians over a drink (included in the ticket price).
Event type:
Running time:

80 Minutes (no interval)

Running times are approximate and subject to change.