European Union Chamber Orchestra - Apr 2019

Thursday 25 April 2019
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
Orchestral Series 2018/19

Buy Tickets

Tickets are not on sale for this event yet.

Hans-Peter Hofmann director
Catrin Finch harp
Fiona Slominska flute
Warlock Capriol Suite
Mozart Concerto for flute and harp
Barber Adagio for Strings
Haydn Symphony No. 44 ‘Trauer’

This concert by the sparkling European Union Chamber Orchestra offers two distinct spirits and a pair of extraordinary soloists.

Mozart’s charming and joyous flute and harp concerto, written for the keen amateur musician, the Duke of Guînes and his harpist daughter, sees the welcome return of Catrin Finch to the Corn Exchange alongside flautist Fiona Slominska. The concerto is paired with a set of sprightly and elegant dances by Peter Warlock, a true maverick of 20th century British music.

There’s a change in tone for the other half of this programme with Barber’s beloved Adagio for Strings, with its slowly building swells of exquisitely harmonised melancholy. The ‘Trauer’ or Mourning Symphony melds the urgency and tension of Papa Haydn’s Sturm und Drang period with characteristic wit and dazzling colours from strings and brass.


This show is part of our Orchestral Series 2018/2019

Event type:
Running time: